I Am Love

Anahata is the name of the heart chakra and as with so many Sanskrit words, it has a deeper and more beautiful meaning. Anahata means unstruck which is found in the sound of om. No constants are used in this sound and therefore nothing is struck. But it also means unstuck; the idea that nothing sticks in love and in our thoughts. The idea that love can flow fluidly through us is such an intensely beautiful concept.

Anahata is the fourth chakra, the chakra of our heart and marks the end of our earthly chakras in this series (as we move up, the energy then becomes more ethereal). This beautiful energy is located in our heart and deals with everything you would imagine a heart chakra would: unconditional love, passion, compassion and acceptance.

It came as no surprise when I first started studying and understanding chakras, that when I took the “chakra quiz” this was one of my most open portals of energy. I live, breathe and am love energy every day of my life!

love-is-contagiousWhen this chakra energy is blocked: Unfortunately every boho babe is on her own path and LOVE may not be entirely how you live your life. You may have experienced something over time that broke your heart and wedged a little nonsense into your heart energy. This would be a blocked heart chakra: the inability to cry (or crying too often), chest pain or tight shoulders, feeling blocked from receiving love, always having the “black cloud” above your head when it comes to men, allowing unworthy lovers into your life, taking on too much in a relationship (being the caretaker or the enabler) and poses such as bridge or wheel are impossible or very difficult.

When this chakra energy is open: Love floats everywhere. It may not always be rainbows and unicorns, but you can see the positive and optimistic side of life. You know the universe has got your back and you’re open to receiving any love you need. You put your needs first in order to best serve others. You come from a place of love, always. The water works turn on and off when you need them to (yes, even during that commercial) and your heart opening poses seem to arrive in your body with grace and ease.

How to open this chakra: Poses, energy healings around the heart, carrying crystals in your purse (or even tucked into your bra), lavender oil on your chest daily, reiki treatments, massages, heart opening practices, soulful music, mapping out your core desired feelings and wearing heart centered colors.

Crystals: Emerald, fluorite, jade, chrysocolla, aventurine, rose quartz.

Color: Green or pink. Wearing green or pink allows your heart to be a touch more open. Perhaps adding in soft pink tones into the background of your computer, buying a heart poster or adding in a little more green to your home office (a candle, a n
ew mug or even your pencil holder). Put on your brand new anahata mala and trace each bead with your fingertips as you allow more love to flow towards you. These can all be simple shifts to allowing more heart centered color into your life.

heart-chakra-love-tiny-devotionsSound: Yam (not a yam… a long A sound). Soulful music – musicals, Broadway, ballads.

Poses: Bridge, wheel, locust, cobra, upward dog, bow, camel… any heart opener or back bend!

Element: Air

Location: Heart center

The heart center is one of the easiest to keep open, but once it has been hurt or put down it is always the trickiest to re-open. Energize yourself by allowing more love into your life: starting with YOU. You are the one person who needs your love the most. Make sure you treat yourself: flowers in your home, delicious candles, amazing bubble baths (think Lush, Epsom salt and essential oils), lavender on your heart, slow and mindful yoga practices and more. If you allow yourself to be front and center, you’ll allow love into your life and keep that heart chakra flowing freely for years to come.

tiny-devotions-yogaJenny Ravikumar is a yoga teacher, blogger and studio owner of Barefoot Yoga Shala. As a teacher and self-proclaimed boho mermaid, Jenny has been bringing her yoga lifestyle knowledge to the online world for years through her blog, jennyravikumar.com. She specializes in helping women dig deeply into self-love & care, while also explaining yoga philosophy and love on her blog and through her courses/private online groups. You can catch her teaching 6 days a week in Massachusetts or pouring love all over the internet 24 hours a day.

Speak Your Mind


× seven = 21